top of page

AMAS (American Music Awards) 2017 After Party

Three weeks ago I travelled to LA for a two week period for both work and pleasure. I convinced my best friend, her sister and their friend from South Carolina to come with me, so we had a little girl squad put-together to say the least.

Personally, I needed to go to LA regardless as I had previously made connections earlier this year at the 2017 International Cannes Film Festival -- where I met many important, genuine people from the music, film and fashion industry. I have always been intrigued by the creative industry as they are all majestically linked. I grew up with theater, dance and music and have never looked back since.

My LA trip this time around was filled with fun networking parties, events, adventures and most importantly a few meetings to secure an internship for next summer. One of the first nights we arrived, my friend Kayla (who writes contracts and produces music videos), called me. I was surprised to hear from her, as we hadn't spoken since she invited me onto her friend, Steve Hightower's three story yacht in Cannes earlier in May. I was pleasantly surprised of course and I was eager to hear what she had been up to for the past six months. She then casually asked me if I had plans that night and I had intended on having a "chill night" at home in our AirBnB in Marina del Rey (ordering post mates and starting a new series on Netflix).

But she quickly changed my mind when she asked me to be her plus one to the American Music Awards After Party at the Indigo Hotel in Downtown LA.

Five hours later we were in our uber on our way to the Indigo Hotel and it felt so good to be reunited with Kayla and to have another unexpected night out in LA to network with many inspiring people from the industry. After getting our picture taken on the red carpet, we talked for hours, danced and talked a little more. Definitely not what I thought I was going to be doing on my Sunday night.

Thank you #SocialMixLA for having us!


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page