top of page

"Breath" Film Review at HIFF: Will Take Your Breath Away


From left: Simon Baker, Ben Spence, Samson Coulter

Last night I had the pleasure in attending the premiere screening of Breath, Simon Baker's (who you may recognize from the very successful series The Mentalist ) new surf film. Simon explained before the film how he never intended to direct the film, as at first he was asked to star in the film and because of his passion towards surfing and the ocean, he was thereby asked to direct the film himself while also contributing immensely through his lead role as Sando. As Baker introduces his masterpiece he gives thanks to Hawaii's impact on his surfing journey and for awakening the surfing culture in Australia,"...[surfing] was an incredible gift and I have cherished it all of my life and I... want to give this back to you. Guys and thank you...guys and girls thank you for the spirit of Aloha and the stuff that we all cherish with our relationship with the ocean. This is... like I said, a lot of people put their heart and soul into this. This movie is my kid. Thank you." Simon Baker introduces Breath at the 2017 Hawaii International Film Festival before the premiere, having put in endless time, work and effort into this film like he so contently expressed to us who were left in awe two hours later.

Simon's co-stars Ben Spence and Samson Coulter were cast through an Instagram competition, as Baker wanted to include authentic Australia actors that had never acted in a big motion picture production before, who could surf and bring a genuine and realness to the film.

Breath is so cleverly layered with real life issues, difficulties and self-struggles. But what is impressive is the new and refreshing way that Simon Baker chose to illustrate surfing and how significant such a meditative sport can be for an individual. The film is an adaptation of Tim Winton's award-winning novel published in 2008, set in coastal Australia during the seventies. Baker has done a phenomenal job in adapting the book into a heart-warming, powerful and comedic motion picture. However, the comedy is so pure and seems effortless, with a more serious and deeper tone embedded in the film's extensive plot. Without giving too much away, as I would like to encourage everyone (surfers and non-surfers of the like) to watch Breath when it finally hits cinemas across the world. This film is now one of my favorite feature films of all time and it beats any other surfing film or drama that have surfaced in previous years.

The actors in combination with the cinematic choices left me speechless. I decided to treat my best friend an extra ticket to the screening and she has a critical eye for cinema, but was also Breath-taken as the film came to its end. Baker did a phenomenal job in casting Breath, as the amateur actors (Ben Spence and Samson Coulter) are what brought together the staggering drama and story line. Baker adapted Tim Winton's international best-selling novel into a motion picture that I can securely say, has done the original author more than justice.

Simon Baker (left), Evie Lindblom (myself, right)

I had the pleasure of meeting Simon after the film, as I am a good friend of Samson Coulter who happened to have a leading role. I spoke to Samson after the screening, as he had mentioned last year when he was on vacation in Hawaii, that he was starring in a new Australian film that was to be released in 2018. I actually didn't know anymore specifics about Samson's role and what film it was, but as I sat down to watch Breath I quickly realized why I recognized Pikelet (Samson Coulter). I had a great chat with Simon after the screening and I enthusiastically commended him on his evidently successful film and I expressed my appreciation for the way that he has re-defined the portrayal of surfing in the film industry.

Simon told me to "shoot Samson a text" after I told him that I was not expecting to see Samson in his film, and was thereby left with a nice surprise as I saw his smile light up the screen. But I was already ahead of Simon, texting Samson mid-screening to commend him on his natural acting ability, surfing and well, carrying out numerous kissing and sex-scenes like a pro (he is just 17 years old).

So buckle up, take two deep breaths and get ready for Breath to reach your nearest world-class cinema. This film will leave your breath-less and wish to give Simon Baker a big pat on the back for directing such a powerful big motion picture.


FOLLOW ME

  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Pinterest Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon

STAY UPDATED

POPULAR POSTS

TAGS

No tags yet.
bottom of page